Desert Duets: Sonoran Desert Poems for Two Voices



Arachnid Logo

Created at

Desert Tarantula

What are the characteristics of arachnids?

All arachnids have eight legs. They are invertebrates, which means they do not have backbones. Arachnids have exoskeltons, hard shells that protect their soft bodies. They grow by molting (shedding their exoskeletons). Baby spiders are called "spiderlings." Most live on land but some live in fresh or saltwater. There are over 100,000 different species of arachnids. They include spiders, scorpions, mites, and ticks.

For more information:


About Arachnids: A Guide for Children by Cathryn Sill, illustrated by John Sill (Peachtree, 2003)

Web Sites:


Spider Silk

Webs and Cocoons


All content copyright 2008 - 2019 Judi Moreillon
All photographs copyright 2008 - 2019 Nick Vitale and Judi Moreillon

Desert Duets: Home | Arachnids | Birds | Mammals | Reptiles

Launched: February 2008
Updated: 2 May 2019